Wrath Kills a Foolish Man

Sometimes things happen in our lives which makes us angry; it’s a normal human emotion and no one is exempt – we all get angry, or as it is said in the old English of the Bible, we get wroth – yes, we all have wrath at one time or another. But is getting angry, and having wrath, really a sin? In the famous list of The Seven Deadly Sins, wrath is number one on the list. But wait, the list of the seven deadly sins is not from the Bible –  it was initially created by the 4th century monk Evagrius Ponticus as a list of eight sins, then adopted by Pope Gregory I who revised it to seven sins, and made famous by Dante Alighieri in his poem The Divine Comedy (Dante’s Inferno).

“For wrath kills a foolish man, and envy slays a simple one.” – Job 5:2 NKJV

Today’s quote includes 2 sins from the 7 Deadly, wrath and envy, and the Bible tells us through the Book of Job that both lead to bad results – namely death. We also read in the Bible that the wages of sin is death, and so is there a connection? Does the Bible say that if I get angry I am guilty of sin?

Let’s see another Bible verse: the Apostle Paul teaches us to “Be angry and sin not.” So, to answer the earlier question, being angry does not equate with sinfulness. The sin comes when you foolishly act on your anger or remain in a state of anger.

“Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.” – Romans 12:19 KJV

“Be ye angry , and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath.” – Ephesians 4:26

Today’s quote, “wrath kills a foolish man, and envy slays a simple one” provides us the simple truth, that if we allow anger (wrath) and envy to direct our actions, that God likens it to foolish and simple-minded behavior, and that such behavior leads to bad consequences. So, flee from even the appearance of sin. For those who are curious about what those 7 deadly sins from Dante’s Inferno are, here you go.

The Seven Deadly Sins of Dante’s Inferno

1. Wrath

2. Gluttony

3. Greed

4. Sloth

5. Lust

6. Envy

7. Pride

The Bible does have 7 sins that God hates, not to be confused with Dante’s 7 deadly ones. They are found in Proverbs 6:16-19. These six things doth the Lord hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:

The Seven Things God Hates

1. A proud look

2. A lying tongue

3. Hands that shed innocent blood

4. An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations

5. Feet that be swift in running to mischief

6. A false witness that speaketh lies

7. He that soweth discord among brethren


Wrath Kills a Foolish Man — 3 Comments

  1. Don’t get mad, get glad!

    I think people often do confuse the 7 deadly sins of Daunte with the 7 things God hates in Proverbs ~ not recognizing a separate origin. Probably many readers would think Daunte just grabbed them from the Bible and assume the two are one and the same. Thanks for breaking it down and bringing this out!

  2. Yes, get glad – sounds like a commercial – LOL! Thanks for your comment bro, yes, a lot of people think the 7 deadly sins are Bible.

  3. Thanks for sharing; for no one is to either add or take away from that Great Book. You realise however that despite their seperation origin, Inferno’s list constitutes sin as well.

    Lets ask for His Grace to keep us from these.

    In full support there, ” Don’t get mad; get glad”!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *